Christmas With Crazies

Christmas is always … interesting. That’s putting it mildly (and probably nicely).

Most times, Christmas is lots of driving. Christmas morning, we start on the Peninsula, work our way to the East Bay for a mid-morning breakfast and present opening get together, then drive to Lake County in time for dinner. That’s most times. We’ve done this (or something similar) to it every year we’ve been together, and the driving part gets old really quick.

Real quick. 😦

This year, we were able to stay local. Christmas morning started on the Peninsula, we made it to the East Bay like normal, but we were able to squeeze in time with my Gramma around 2pm before heading to my gramma-in-law on the Peninsula. It was nice to not have to drive so far. Really nice. 🙂

Getting together with my side of the family always, always, reminds me of how crazy and loud we can be. We work to get lunch/dinner made and on the table (we eat buffet style at my Gramma’s), then the eating time gets louder. Much louder. Multiple conversations, yelling over each other, and (because we’re Samoan) loud laughter. You could probably hear us halfway down the block if the windows and doors were left open!

Opening gifts is always amusing as well. At my gramma’s, they pass out the presents before dessert and everyone waits for all the gifts to be passed out. We usually pass the time by cleaning up the dining table to make room for desserts, making coffee, watching the kids, talking, and when the gifts are all passed out, the living room turns into a flurry of paper and ribbon as we all tear into the gifts.

“Ooo’s” and “aaah’s” are mixed in with “Thank you so much!” and “You’re welcome!” and in a matter of 30 minutes, the gifts have all been opened and put away.

We’re just a bunch of crazies, can you tell?

Yeah, we’re loud, a lot on the crazy side, a little on the unorthodox side, but being with my family for the holidays is awesome. It makes me realize 1)I love them regardless, and 2)being crazy is ok.

Crazy helps define my ever after.

One thought on “Christmas With Crazies

  1. Lol. I love your title! “Christmas With Crazies.” 🙂

    I’m glad you guys had a blessed time! I was thinking of and praying for you guys a lot this past week for some reason. Maybe because we had your car! Lol.

    Speaking of which, I can totally relate to you being glad you were able to stay local this year. I thought I was going to go crazy when we were driving back Sunday. We were in that car for TEN hours! I was literally going to scream and jump out of the car and just run down the road or something, just so I could be out of the car/traffic. :/

    Anyway, glad you had a blessed Christmas with all your “crazies”! 🙂

Leave a Reply

