All Grown Up

I look at our daughter and am so fascinated by how much she’s grown. Over two years ago, she was birthed into this world and couldn’t do for herself. Now, she’s developed her own personality, her own likes and dislikes, her own style of speech.

Obviously, she’s not all grown up. But she is compared to two years ago.

I can’t wait to see what kind of woman she develops into. I can’t wait to see if her tastes change (I’m sure they will). I can’t wait to see how she does in life.

I like to think that my approach on life is to meet it head on. If you fall, you fall. But what do you do after you’ve fallen? I believe in learning from your mistakes – even if you fall continuously over the same thing. We’re human – it takes a while for us to learn anything.

I don’t believe in failure either. I believe in trying over and over again, trying a different approach each time. I don’t believe in giving up on someone either. Maybe it’s stupidity, maybe it’s being naive, but I know my greatest example of this is Jesus. He continuously shows gives me chances when I don’t deserve them.

I believe in going after what you want, pursuing what you’re passionate about. I believe in surrounding myself with people who will encourage me and advise me as needed, even if it’s not what I want.

I hope that Ella grows up to be a passionate woman who pursues her interests with everything she has. I hope she gives people the chances they deserve, even if she feels like giving up on them.

I hope she knows that being all grown up isn’t about an age number. It’s about maturing, growing, and realizing that life isn’t smooth and easy, but that the bumps you fall over are there for you to learn from.

One thought on “All Grown Up

Leave a Reply

