Over the mountain

Friday night took us over into Lake County to see my in-laws and grandparent-in-laws (is this even a word/title???). The drive isn’t so bad; 101 N is pretty flat with the occasional hill here and there.

Once you get into Santa Rosa and onto Mark West Springs Road, the area goes from concrete to woods. It’s nice scenery: lots of trees, homes set back behind wooden fences, few street lights. It’s nice.

Follow Mark West to Porter Creek Road to Petrified Forest Road to Foothill Road to Tubbs Lane and you’ll eventually get to CA-29. CA-29 leads over the mountain separating Lake County from Sonoma County. It’s not that long a ride, probably around 30 to 40 minutes, at a good decent speed without trucks in front of you, to get over.

On our way up over the mountain, Brian started talking about cars. He’s in school at Wyotech so cars is something we talk about seemingly more regularly. But he wasn’t talking about cars just to talk; he was talking to help keep me occupied.

Going over this mountain, day or night, make me nauseous.

We did pretty good this time though. We talked almost the whole way over with him making sure not to go too fast while occupying my ear space with talk about cars and car parts.

Going over a mountain, any mountain, is always difficult. Throw in a little bit of stubbornness, defiance, bad-mouthing, and anything else bad and making it over that mountain’s gonna be a whole lot tougher than it has to be.

I believe that’s why God paired us together. He knew the mountain that would come in our relationship would be too much for me to handle on my own. To help me realize that I didn’t have to go it alone, He gave me Brian, who holds my hand, talks about anything that comes to mind, assures me we’re almost at the bottom, asks how I’m doing, reminds me that it’s going to be okay.

The next time we go over that or any mountain, I’ll be okay knowing that the life partner God gave me is right next to me holding my hand and going over it with me.

2 thoughts on “Over the mountain

Leave a Reply

