Not a “Billionaire”

I heard this song a few weeks ago on the radio. The music is catchy, don’t misjudge my call on that, but the lyrics are not something I agree with.

When the chorus of song says:
“I wanna be a billionaire so frickin’ bad.
Buy all of the things I never had.
I wanna be on the cover of Forbes magazine.
Smiling next to Oprah and the Queen.

Oh every time I close my eyes,
I see my name in shiny lights.
A different city every night.
Oh I – I swear, the world better prepare
For when I’m a billionaire”

it implies that being less than a billionaire is bad.

Having a daughter, the last thing we want is to raise her with this belief she’s owed everything, and that chasing money is right.

1 Timothy 6:10 – Certainly, the love of money is the root of all kinds of evil. Some people who have set their hearts on getting rich have wandered away from the Christian faith and have caused themselves a lot of grief.

The Bible calls parents to Train a child in the way he should go, and even when he is old he will not turn away from it. Proverbs 22:6.

That’s a heavy calling for anyone out there who’s a parent.

But if you’ve done right by your child, raised them according to the standards God has set, and they hear and take to heart the lyrics of songs like this one, which one will your child actually heed to?

With all my heart, I pray it’s the standards you have already set in them.

Because to chase after the bling, the camera flashes of the red carpet, the fancy cars, the big mansions leads to momentary happiness. But lasting happiness comes from chasing after the heart of God, finding your place in His will, and doing all you can to achieve His will.

Besides, we’re only here because of Him anyway.

4 thoughts on “Not a “Billionaire”

  1. my first thought was ‘amen sister!.

    i hear that song every now and then and i usually hear it when we have, if not one, all three kids. and i usually change the channel because i surely don’t want our kids growing up thinking the material things of this world are all they should be striving for.

    i hope to instill in our children that we work hard for what we have, don’t take it for granted and be happy with what God blesses us with. but most of all, that our treasures aren’t of this earth.

  2. Okay, don’t judge me, but… I kinda like that song. As in, sing along with it in my car. Lol.

    BUT! The ridiculousness and flawed logic of it isn’t lost on me. I definitely get where you’re coming from, Miriam. Especially as a mom.

    Sigh… the job of a parent is so darn hard!

Leave a Reply

