A work in progress

You know that saying “A work in progress”? For whatever reason, it popped into mind today. And I have no clue why.

Work: a task or undertaking

Progress: advancement in general

(definitions provided by dictionary.com)

Thinking about it now, I could say that my life is a work in progress. It’s progressing towards a goal God wants me to achieve. Not just as an individual, but as a wife and a mother as well.

The short-term goal could be indulging in more of His Word.

The long-term goal could be hearing, acknowledging and taking my place in His will for me.

Now, it’s one thing to say and another to believe it. I think that’s where I’ve shorted myself, my husband and God. I can say that I’m a work in progress until I’m blue in the face. But if I’m not making a conscious effort to make progress, am I still a work in progress?

Yeah… I don’t think so.

I think I’m stagnant, right?

In order to achieve a goal, you work at it, even when you feel like giving up, even when everyone else says you can’t, even when everything works against you.

Philippians 3:14 “with my eyes fixed on the goal I push on to secure the prize of God’s heavenward call in Christ Jesus.” (Weymouth New Testament)

My declaration: I am a work in progress.

My focus: I will keep my eyes, my heart, my mind focused on where God wants me, what He wants me to do, how He wants to get me there.

My goal: To be a better wife, a better mother, a better daughter, a better sister, a better friend, a better servant of God

My understanding: I will fail, I will fall, I will falter BUT I will not give up, I will get back up, and I will grab onto what He provides to move past any and all hesitations.

(originally posted here)

One thought on “A work in progress

  1. Awesome sauce, 🙂

    I’m with you on this one. I’d been stagnant for a while and I’m sick of it. I’m now working on listening and hearing Him so we can get this ball rolling, lol.

Leave a Reply

