Die a slow death

Wow. That’s a bit of a foreboding, rather depressing title, ain’t it?

Truth is, this is how I feel. Now physically. I’m sure we would say something if anything were that wrong with either of us. No. This is spiritually.

For longer than I will willingly admit, I have been in a spiritual decline. My spirit is not in the best state right now. I can’t even remember the last time I felt like this.

This is I’m not growing spiritually. I haven’t matured. I haven’t seen a change. I feel – and know – I’m not going anywhere.
I feel bogged down by a lot of different things, none of which I will list here. (If you care to know, hit me up – Facebook, email, phone.) I feel like I need space from my spiritual norm in order to feel normal again.

None of this is to say that I’m unhappy with other parts of my life. In contrast to my spiritual happiness, I am good everywhere else. Just not in that one area.

Someone suggested I take a break from where I go to church and seek nourishment elsewhere. It’s starting to sound and look like a better and better solution. If not permanently than at least temporarily. I’ve never been spiritually dead before. I don’t want to be. But dying a slow death isn’t all too appealing either.

(Originally posted here)

Leave a Reply

