Day 4: Guidance

(Today’s post will be different than the past three. Today’s post will be in letter form to God.)

Dear God,

I’m not writing to gripe or complain or moan or any of that. As You know, life’s pretty okay for me right now. That’s kind of a “no duh!” statement – stating the obvious, I suppose.

I’m writing today to ask for Your guidance. Here’s why (although You know everything so You already know what’s coming).

Currently, in different parts of my life, I haven’t asked for Your input. I’ve been pretty selfish (okay, “pretty” is probably an understatement, but You know what I mean) and I haven’t thought things through before demanding them. Not of You because if that were the case, I wouldn’t be writing this today, huh?

So I’m asking, mostly in general because that’s a great place for me to start, for Your guidance in all parts of my life as a wife, as a mother, as a co-worker, as a leader. I’m asking for Your hand to point me in the right direction before I speak or act out of selfishness or pettiness.

I understand that You know everything about me, where I’ll go, what I’ll do. I’m not sure if it’s a matter of trust on my end because I believe I trust You with everything I am. But I’m asking for less of “I think I should go here” and more of “Let Me take you there.” Does that make sense?

If it doesn’t I’ll be happy to clarify, although it’d be more for my sake than Yours.

Before I sign off this letter, I want to thank You for whatever guidance You will give me. I will pray that I’m open enough to Your direction that doing whatever You want me to isn’t such a fight. Fighting what I know will ultimately help me is such a waste of my time and energy anyway, although the lesson would probably stick so much better!

Thank You for Your time, Your love and Your presence in my life.

Love,

Me

Leave a Reply

