Day 6: Finished

I’ve been doing  a first edit of a story I wrote and finished in January, Priscilla.

I don’t actually title anything I’ve written. I’m not good at that sort of stuff so I title them after the lead female character. I could probably re-title a story when it’s finished, but, to be honest, the simplicity of a name for a title helps me remain focused on what the story is ultimately about – a portion of the life of my character.

Anyway, last night while doing laundry I finished editing Priscilla and I can’t begin to describe how relieved I felt. Relief because I could pass it on to my sister for her opinion now that the editing is complete. This is the story I’m thinking and praying about submitting to a Christian publisher I found online about a week ago.

I’m anxious for someone else’s opinion about this story. It took me almost two months to write, one month to post online and two more months to edit. And as bad as this might sound, I’m tired of looking at it. Ugh.

But not that it’s finished, I’m ready for another story. I’m currently writing two, one of which I’ve been posting since February 3. The second story is a side project that isn’t posted at all but will be when the current story is done.

I don’t believe writing is my claim to fame and I’m not even 100% sure if it’s what I should be doing (I don’t consider myself the greatest writer and I definitely didn’t go to college to major in writing) but I know that each time I pen a story it’s different. The characters, circumstances, events are different. I don’t know if I’ve gotten better at writing, if I’ve tightened the loose screws on my technique and style, or if I have a signature style of writing.

But I like it, enjoy it, find satisfaction in it, even more so when the story is finally finished.

2 thoughts on “Day 6: Finished

  1. Yes, it is. It’s super frustrating for me to write then read what I’ve written and not like anything about it. But it’s not a good enough reason for me to stop writing!

    • Yes, it is. It’s super frustrating for me to write then read what I’ve written and not like anything about it. But it’s a good enough reason for me to stop writing!

Leave a Reply

