Day 13: Time

(Today’s post is in letter form)

Dear God,

As You know, we in California sprang forward an hour last night or sometime early this morning before I was sensibly awake. I’d ask why but it’s a moot point so whatever.

But thinking about the reason we spring forward (it gives us more daytime hours with actual sun), I wonder if You’d give me more time if I asked for it. Some days just don’t have enough time and I’m pretty sure I’m not the only one who feels like this. *Sigh* I know a day is still twenty-four hours, no matter how much I sometimes need it to be a few hours longer but it was just a thought.

However, staying on that thought, I take it back. I don’t want more time. You know that saying, with great power comes great responsibility? Yeah, that’s probably not accurate either but You know what I’m talking about. Yeah… That’s why I take back my thought.

I think I manage my time fairly well (I know I can slip up pretty bad) but if You actually extended the day by an hour or two, maybe three, I think I’d be screwed and that’s putting it mildly. Some days I don’t manage my time well at all. If my days were longer, it’d be a mess. M-E-S-S. A mess. I’m not saying I wouldn’t learn to be responsible but I’d be so frustrated and annoyed with myself while learning it that everyone else around me would suffer because of it.

And, really, I’m trying not to be that mean or inconsiderate.

It’s not what You want from me anyway.

So instead of asking for more time, I’ll ask for this: Help me to better manage the time I’m given everyday. Help me not to waste a single second that goes by. Help me to divide my time equally and like You want me to. (I was going to say “like I should” but that wasn’t right.)

So I don’t want more time in my day or in my life. I want to manage my time better and more effectively.

Thanks for listening, God. Reading this letter over I realize my request is pretty simple and borderline ridiculous. That’s probably not right in Your eyes because no request is too small or too big for You. It just seems ridiculous to me. Really? Who asks for better time management skills???

*Sigh*

You know what I mean and that’s all that matters. Thanks for listening to my heart and reading this as I write it.

Love,

Me

Leave a Reply

