Day 24: Grounded

Do you know what it means to be grounded?

No, not the “I’m in trouble, stuck in my room” grounded.

Grounded, the verb. It means “to place on a foundation; fix firmly; settle or establish; found.”

I’m a minister’s daughter. I’ve attended church my whole life. I was taught scripture from a young age but contrary to what people think I only know a few verses by heart. I know a variety of hymns and some modern worship songs. I’ve played the piano for three churches. I’ve participated in various youth and women’s events throughout my life. I’ve met other Christians, married a Christian man.

Where am I going with all of this?

To come to this point: Just because I grew up a minister’s daughter, just because I grew up in a church, just because of my experience in churches doesn’t mean I’m grounded in my faith.

I was, for the longest time ever, a coattail Christian. It means I hung on the Christian coattails of my parents or of others instead of establishing myself as a full-fledged Christian. (Makes me sound like a bird or something!) If you don’t understand what that means, then please try this on for size: You’ll never learn to really walk until you let go of the ledge you’ve got a death grip on. Make sense?

It wasn’t until I let go of the proverbial coattails in my hands that I learned to live as a Christian, not just saying I was a Christian. To dispute the point I know some are thinking, IT DOESN’T MEAN I’M PERFECT! This isn’t to apologize or excuse my non-Christian behavior. It’s to explain that determining in my mind to be a Christian doesn’t erase my faults and bad habits overnight.

Christ didn’t call me to be perfect. He called me to be His daughter, to live a life centered around His will and plan.

I’m not perfect.

But I’m not a coattail Christian anymore.

I sin.

But I’m still grounded in my faith.

I stumble.

But He picks me up, reestablishes where my feet should be, and urges me on.

I’m grounded, affirmed by my Heavenly Father that I am His and saved by His Son’s blood.

I. Am. Grounded.

Leave a Reply

