Day 26: Absolutes

I once read/heard/was told that there are very few absolutes in life, that the best person to depend on is yourself. You know that saying ‘Looking out for number one’? Yeah, it’s something like that.

I guess.

B and I have been married for seven years. We’ve learned to depend on each other as our love continues to grow and our friendship continues to deepen. But we know that we won’t be there for each other forever. It’s the reality of being human. We’re not invincible. We’re not immune. It’s the order of things: we’re born, we live, we die. (I’m pretty sure these three qualify as absolutes, lol.) The whole “circle of life” thing.

Yeah, yeah, I know it sounds grim. It’s not meant to be. It’s a gentle reminder that our dependence can’t be on each other or on the wayward thoughts and philosophies of man. There are things I’m absolutely sure about: my God loves me, His Son died for me, He’s coming back for me. There’s a bunch of others (His Word is filled with absolutes) but these are basic absolutes about my relationship with Him.

Absolutes. A definite “I know.” An assurance that’s deeper than brain knowledge. It’s knowing Him, His word, His promise. It’s Him.

Leave a Reply

