Day 28: Time

“Time waits for no man.”

“Time marches on.”

“You’re wasting my time!”

“It’s time!”

60 seconds = 1 minute, 60 minutes = 1 hour, 24 hours = 1 day, 7 days = 1 week, 52 weeks = 1 year

Time is a gift, afforded to us by God, who holds time in His hands.

Our days, gifts from Him, are filled with schedules, reasons and sometimes excuses, of stuff to do. We wish for more time, groan when things go unfinished, but do we thank Him for the time we’ve had?

We look back on our lives and wonder, “Where’d the time go?” Shouldn’t we be asking, “What’d I do with my time?”

We spend our time doing as we please, doing what we want. I’m not saying this is wrong. I don’t believe it is. But is most of your time spent in this fashion? Are you spending your time how He wants you to? How about where He wants you to?

Ignoring His prodding to read His word, spend time in prayer with Him might be easy for some, but how about when He tells you to move? Is that easy to ignore? Hmm, maybe at first but probably not after a while.

It’s like a fly that buzzes around your head and won’t go away. Annoying but effective.

Time is all about God, all for God. Spend time with Him, pursuing after Him.

I struggle with these things but I’m striving to change that. See, when I’m lying on my deathbed, waiting for that last breath to exit this human shell, I want to be able to look back on my life, smile and say, “I hope You’re pleased with how I used the time You gave me while I was here on earth.”

Leave a Reply

