Sprout – Day 6

There are days when I feel like an utter failure.

There are also days when I feel like a total success.

And yet there are also days when I’m smack-dab in the middle of both.

I’ve learned that being any one of these begins with a state of mind. Believing yourself a winner or failure is often contingent upon the situation, the stress, the level of involvement, the confidence in your ability to do or not.

Sometimes, pep talking yourself into something is all you need to believe you’ll succeed. However, self-doubt and uncertainty in yourself are also enough to believe you’ll fail.

The voices of those that surround you should be encouraging you to success, pushing you towards it, believing and praying and having faith enough that you can do it. These are the people you want in your life. The others, those dark voices the whisper doubt and the endless strings of “but” sentences will drive you straight into the arms of failure.

Now, God’s word says this:

  • I can do all things through Him who gives me strength (Phil 4:13)
  • But he replied, “My kindness is all you need. My power is strongest when you are weak.” So if Christ keeps giving me his power, I will gladly brag about how weak I am. Yes, I am glad to be weak or insulted or mistreated or to have troubles and sufferings, if it is for Christ. Because when I am weak, I am strong. (2 Cor 12:9-10)
  • For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline. (2 Tim 1:7)

There is a wealth of strength in His Word that you can draw from, and the above are just examples of some. We’re not called to fail. We’re called to try. By refusing to even try, we have failed. By being willing to try, we are stepping towards success. And that success might just be being able to say, “I did it!”

So I pray that you draw on His strength and that you allow Him to grow in you the will to strive to at least try. I pray for more encouraging voices in your ears. I pray against the voices that do not encourage you. And I pray that your ears are more open to Him so you can hear Him say loud and clear, “You can do this because your strength comes from Me.”

Leave a Reply

