Sprout – Day 10

Today we attended Sunset Community Church in Livermore and today’s word was from Joshua 23 and 24, with part of the focus on Joshua 24:15:

But if serving the Lord seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve,
whether the gods your ancestors served byond the Euphrates, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living.
But as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.

I’ve heard this scripture numerous times in my lifetime, have even heard songs about this scripture. Pastor Darin Anderson made a point that I’ve never thought about though: Is this just a declaration in your household or is it something you live by?

It’s never been either for me, before and after marriage. But when he posed the question, it made me really think: Is the life I’m living a testimony, a good example to The Kid? Does she see Christ in me? Do I preach it and live it?

It’s more than “Do as I say, not as I do,” a statement that doesn’t make sense because children learn by example. But if we’re raising The Kid in the way of the Lord, then it has to be “Do as I say and as I do.” It’s living the life both in what I say and do. To say and then not do is a contradiction, an unhealthy example to The Kid, an unfair portrayal of Christ. And to be a fair portrayal of Him to The Kid means living “we will serve the Lord” in every part of my life.

And I have a feeling making such a conscious change isn’t easy. But, hey, not everything’s easy, right?

I pray for a willingness to make this change, a chance to let this scripture take root and grow, and for more awareness of how I am around The Kid and B. I also pray for this to become more than just a scripture, not just to me but to you as well, and that it becomes a lifestyle. I pray that those who see us know that we don’t just “serve the Lord” on Sundays or when we’re in His house. I pray that they see and know that this is our choice, our lifestyle, and that we don’t do it for recognition or to appear better than others but that we do it because how we live is completely, wholly, undoubtedly dedicated to being an accurate portrayal of Him.

One thought on “Sprout – Day 10

Leave a Reply

