Sprout – Day 17

(So I totally forgot to post this yesterday. My brain shut down at around 1pm.)

(Today’s post is in letter form)

Dear God,

I’ve heard that my heart is Your garden. Or maybe it’s a part of Your garden. I’m not sure which but I’m sure You know what I mean.

Since it’s Yours, can I ask You something? How can You stand to see the ugly weeds that probably pop up from time to time? I’ve seen weeds growing in gardens, sidewalks, lawns and they’re not pretty. Even the ones that masquerade as pretty (dandelions/ragweed) are nothing but weeds. Weeds! They’re invasive. They choke out the life of the plants around them if they go unattended.

*Sigh* Maybe today’s just one of those days were I think the weeds are more numerous than the blossoms in the gardens of my heart. I don’t know. Maybe I’m just tired and shouldn’t think this way.

I’m not mad (although I probably sound like it) or even frustrated. Contemplative? Maybe that’s what I am. I have no idea.

What I do know is that this garden loves the tender ministrations of Your hands, the whisper of Your voice as You speak into me, the rain and sun of Your heart as You love me. Despite the weeds. 🙂

I know that You won’t let this garden go so long as I choose to keep You in it. Here’s an open invitation then, one I hope to always remember and live by:

God, here’s my heart. I ask that You cultivate it continuously, You bring it to fruition everyday not just every season. I ask that You fill it blossoms that show the colors of Your love, mercy, grace and forgiveness. I pray that those who see this garden are in awe of it’s Gardener.

So here’s my heart, Your garden. It’s Yours.

Love,

Me

One thought on “Sprout – Day 17

Leave a Reply

