Maybe – Day 10

Maybe I’ll try something new.

Fear. It can hold you in its claws so tight you’ll swear you’re paralyzed. It can keep you rooted to the same spot as the world around you passes you by. It can render you speechless. It can make you want to rewind time and do it over again.

But it’s not what we’re meant to have.

The Bible talks about having a spirit of power, of love and of a sound mind.

Oh, fear has power but it’s power that can destroy you. It doesn’t share in your love for all things bright and beautiful. And it doesn’t want you to have a sound mind. Fear wants the opposite. It wants us to cower as it destroys ours hopes. It wants us to feel unloved, separated from everything that loves us in return. And if fear seeks to destroy, than what do you need a right mind for?

I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t take a lot of risks. I don’t deviate from my daily plan. I’m not someone who’s willing to take a chance without knowing the potential end result.

That mentality has the potential to turn everything into an “I don’t think so” event. I’ll be thirty years old soon. I think it’s time for me to stop putting off all the things I say I’m scared of doing and begin enjoying them instead.

What about you?

One thought on “Maybe – Day 10

  1. 30 is a good age to start thinking about these things. Being a parent helps – just imagine yourself trying to explain to your children why you don’t do certain things – especially if they are things you would like to see them try.

Leave a Reply

