Maybe – Day 16

Maybe I’ll cherish these moments.

Death has a funny way of putting life in perspective. At the beginning of May, we attended the one year going home anniversary of an aunt who passed away last year. A week later, another relative, a cousin, passed away suddenly. Upon this most recent passing, pictures popped up all over Facebook in honor of their memory. The pictures are moments of this person’s life, cherished pieces of time that cannot be repeated, permanent images that tell a story all on their own.

Seeing these tiny time capsules made me think: How often do I cherish moments in my life that cannot be repeated, restored or given back to me?

Um…

Right.

Times with B and The Kid are plentiful, but how often do I really hold tight to them? How often do I remind myself that these moments aren’t forever even though the memories are? How often do I take them for granted?

It’s difficult, in a day that’s filled with work and the madness of house stuff, to honestly enjoy moments with my small family. There’s a million things on my mind, a million more things on my “To Do” list. It’s not an excuse, please don’t read it as one. It’s a fact of my crazy, psychotic life.

But learning to cherish these far and few between moments… *Sigh* I’m willing to start out trying and work my way into making it a habit.

What about you?

2 thoughts on “Maybe – Day 16

  1. Miriam, I love this post. I’ve been thinking about this more and more lately as well. It seems it’s a time of renewing this truth, believing it more and more as the years go by. We’re so blessed to have the family and friends that we cherish…and we need to cherish all the more those people, those moments, all of it. Thanking GOD for HIS blessings…it just never seems enough. When we really think about it, how much time do we spend actually being thankful, instead of just saying it? How humbling…thank you. ❤ I'll take this moment to let you know that I love you, that I am thankful for the friendship we have and continue to grow in. I'm thankful that you have brought such love and happiness into my cousin's life. I'm thankful that you challenge him, encourage him, and that he does the same for you. I'm thankful that you are a mom to a cute, crazy, lovable little girl. ❤ XOXO

    • I cried when I read your comment because I couldn’t, and still can’t, find the words to describe how I felt about what you wrote.

      I love you, Michelle. Thank you for being my friend and my cousin.

Leave a Reply

