Coffee & Donuts

B and I live in two different worlds when it comes to morning rituals. He’s a get up half an hour before you have to leave, brush your teeth, get dressed and “Are you ready?” kind of guy.

Me? I’m up with the sun, take a shower, get ready, clean the house before I leave kind of person.

Seven years of marriage hasn’t changed our morning routine much. Well, we added The Kid, lol, but she’s adjusted to what we do.

Coffee and donuts, juice and bagels, tea and toast, or eggs and waffles. One, or more, of these things is what you might have in common with your significant other. Or maybe you have no morning rituals in common at all. But whether or not you have similarities with each other, your mornings spent together are as important as your evenings or date nights or even lunch dates.

B just finished school and is waiting on job prospects right now. He’s at home with The Kid a lot of mornings while I go to work. I’m not demeaning his lack of morning activities or the fact that he’s not working. Trust me, I’m grateful that he’s home with The Kid and eagerly anticipating the day he gets hired.

But sometimes B isn’t awake when I leave for work. I don’t get to drive with him anymore to the office or have lunch with him. I call him at lunch to see what they’re doing but it’s not the same.

And while I no longer share my mornings with him, I’ve found a way to “spend” it with him. I kiss him before I leave and tell him I love him. See, if anything happens to me between when I leave for work and come home, I want him to know I love him. I want him to remember that I kissed him one last time.

So we don’t smile or laugh over coffee and donuts in the morning. But we share a kiss and a spoken sentiment. That’s my coffee and donuts in the morning now. πŸ™‚

And I like it.

2 thoughts on “Coffee & Donuts

  1. Lovely !!! For us,its he who gets up half an hour ‘ahead’ of me πŸ˜‰ and yes the Good morning kiss,the kiss and ‘I love U’ before starting for work and laying my head on his chest at the end of the day makes everyday worth a million lifetimes πŸ™‚

    Glad i stumbled upon ur blog…enjoying browsing through ur sweet thoughts and moments πŸ™‚
    Have a great day ! Cheers !!

Leave a Reply

