I can hear it

Last night, I spent time resting in your arms. Normally, cuddling with you puts me on your right side. But last night we snuggled on the armchair and I was on your left.

And with my cheek resting against your chest, I could hear your heart beat.

It was strong, steady, sure.

It thudded against my ear, a delicious sound that vibrated my body, a simple reminder that I wasn’t alone.

I can usually hear you around our tiny home, playing with The Kid, yelling at a stupid play by a sports figure or a dumb call by some pea brained ump. I can usually see you walking around the house or messing with The Kid, an ear-to-ear grin on your face as she dissolves into a fit of giggles.

I like that I can see and hear you, know that you’re not far away.

But last night…

Time in your arms, hearing your heart beat, is a moment that I will cherish. Our lives are busy, yes, and yet when we find time to embrace like that it means more to me than if you take me out on a million dates or fly me away with you to some exotic vacation.

Because, not even twelve hours later, I can still hear it, the strong and reassuring sound of your heart beat drumming softly in my ears, my head and my own heart.

One thought on “I can hear it

Leave a Reply

