You do

What you do for your family is both out of necessity and love.

We’ve just moved across the bay. Rent is cheaper, closer to my parents who will be a huge help when The Kid starts school, and B got a job five minutes (literally) from our new place.

Excited? Very.

But even though he works so close to home, it leaves me to commute to my job in San Mateo County still. When The Kid goes with me, which she will most mornings, it’s a longer commute – Livermore to San Bruno to work to San Bruno to Livermore. Overall, on those days, it’s about four hours of driving. When she’s not with me, it’s about two to two-and-a-half hours.

Bitter? No.

Here’s why: I do it for B and The Kid.

I love my husband and kid. They make every single minute of my time on the road worth it.

It’s a fact of life that you do things you might not want – work long hours, work farther away from home, travel for business – but if you think about why you do it, it’s easier to do.

So for every second I’m on the road, for every morning I have to leave early to make it to work on time, I’ll think of my handsome husband and beautiful daughter. I’ll think about their smiling faces, their giggles and laughter. I’ll think about The Kid’s soft cheek when I kiss her goodbye and whisper, “I love you,” so she doesn’t wake up when she’s not riding with me. I’ll think about his sweet kisses in the morning and sleep husky voice saying, “I love you. Drive safe.”

And at the end of the day, when I’m sitting in traffic once again, I’ll think about getting home to them, sharing dinner with them, and spending what remains of the day with them.

Leave a Reply

