You always do

Dear God –

I’ve forgotten about You lately and I apologize for putting You on the back burner of life. I could say that I’ve been busy, but You know that. I could say that I’ve been tired, but You know that too. I could say a hundred other reasons to justify why I’ve forgotten You, but You know all of them. There’s no point in voicing what You already know.

I realize that today is half-over and the realization that I’ve left You out as of late is, maybe, a moot point to some but I disagree. Is it ever too late to ask forgiveness? I don’t think so.

So here I sit, at my desk, asking for Your forgiveness of an oversight that is of my own doing. How can I forget One who breathes life into me, protects and provides me and my family, loves me when I do something really stupid? *Shrugs* I don’t know but I have and I’m sorry.

LOL I know it’s out of context and probably not the right place to be thinking this, but that song “Apologize” just came to mind. “It’s too late to apologize” are the chorus words and I’m laughing because, in this instance, it couldn’t be further from the truth.

I know that with You, it’s never too late to apologize.

Because I know that with You, You always do for me even before I apologize.

So thank You for all that You’ve done for me and my family in my time of forgetfulness.

Let me be reminded, on a daily basis, that I can’t forget You, that I need You, that You love me, that You do for me, despite it all.

Here’s to moving past forgetfulness and moving into always remembering.

Love,
Me

Leave a Reply

