Lancets & Test Strips

I was recently diagnosed with gestational diabetes. Being six months pregnant, and having been careful with my diet during this pregnancy, I was devastated to learn I have GD. I cried. I got mad. I cried some more. Then straightened my spine, squared my shoulders, and faced it head on.

I test my sugar levels every day, four times a day. It’s both interesting and frustrating to watch my levels go up then down then back up again. Since I’m not meeting a dietician until tomorrow, figuring out what’s good and bad has been…stressful. I’ve placed numerous calls to Kaiser’s Perinatal services and the nurses there have been super helpful as I learn to navigate this craziness.

B has been 1) super supportive, and 2) super helpful. He takes into consideration what I can and can’t eat. He’s even said no when I wanted something really, really bad that he knew would send my sugar levels through the roof. šŸ™‚

Yay for loving, supportive, considerate husbands!

And change is inevitable. It isn’t enough to just acknowledge I have GD. I have to eat better and exercise consistently. Exercising has been consistent since the beginning of the pregnancy. Eating better… šŸ˜‰ I’m getting there.

Even though it’s been one week since I was diagnosed, I’ve determined I’m not going to shed any more tears. Neither am I going to get pissy that I have this when I don’t want it at all.

It is what it is.

It’s a part of this pregnancy.

And it’s only for a moment.

Leave a Reply

