Aches, Limits & Goals

Pregnant at thirty-one is different than being pregnant at twenty-six.

I feel every minute of this pregnancy. When I was pregnant with Kid 1, I didn’t feel the pregnancy as much. At the beginning, yes. But as the months wore on, I didn’t. I had plenty of energy going from one trimester to the next, could do more each day, and seemed to last longer into the evening as well.

This time around… It’s definitely a new experience. I get tired quickly, feel achy more often than not, and find it difficult to do simple things for prolonged periods of time (i.e. standing, walking, resting, etc.).

One of my favorite things to do pre-pregnancy was cleaning and laundry. Strange, lol, but doing both is soothing and relaxing for me. Maybe it’s seeing the end result, or the satisfaction in knowing what the end result will be. But to do both now is tiring, which, to be honest, is annoying as hell. Oh, B helps. He helps a lot with the cooking, cleaning, taking care of Kid 1. But then I feel restless, like I have energy I need to expel somewhere and nowhere to spend it.

Sounds crazy, huh?

*sigh* Pregnancy’s just crazy, I guess.

However, on the bright side of things, I worked up the nerve to tell B my post-pregnancy goal. πŸ™‚

Most who know me, know I don’t care one bit about what other people think about me, my weight, or my size. I’m not a heavy drinker, I don’t smoke. I do my best to watch what I eat and drink. I exercise a minimum of 30 minutes almost everyday.

And that was before I found out I had gestational diabetes.

But Kid 2 will be here soon enough, and shortly thereafter I’ll be thirty-two. My goal after giving birth is to lose not only what I gain during my pregnancy but to get in shape and get back to what I consider my ideal weight of 140 lbs. πŸ™‚

B agreed and said we’ll do the weight loss together. Of course, 140 isn’t ideal for B. He’d look severely malnourished and sick if he ever got to that weight! But working together in losing the weight, getting in shape, and eating healthier will be good for both of us and set a good example for our kids.

So there you have it. The aches and pains of pregnancy, learning what my limits are, and setting post-pregnancy goals. πŸ™‚

Life’s good and it’s only gonna get better.

Leave a Reply

