Rise & Stretch

In an effort to get back into shape and to get healthier, I’ve started doing yoga.

Years ago, I took yoga at a community college. Bikram yoga πŸ™‚ This type of yoga is usually done in a room heated to just over 100 degrees, but the teacher I had took pity on us and set the thermostat between 90 and 95. Since it was wintertime, he said he didn’t want us getting sick going in and out of the cold.

During that class, I learned how intense yoga can be. I thought it’d be super easy–go in, do some stretches, relax, go home.

Wrong! πŸ™‚

Yoga was more than stretches. It was about focus, about posture, about muscles, about breathing. It helps relax you, helps strengthen your core muscles, and helps loosen stiff joints.

While some may scoff at the idea of doing yoga as a way to get back in shape, I don’t. See, it’s been years since I’ve done more than moderate exercise (i.e. walking) I figured yoga would be a good place for me start.

And it is.

My long term goal is to make yoga a daily routine for me, and to go from walking to running again. I want to be able to play with my kids, to run around with them at parks, to show them how to make good choices for their health. I want to be able to have many years with my husband, years hopefully free of long term illnesses and disease. I want to prolong, maybe even avoid, the diseases that seem to follow people in my family–diabetes, hypertension, high blood pressure, etc.

I want life, love, happiness, and good health. πŸ™‚

And by adding exercising to what I already have (life, love, and happiness) I know I’ll be in good health in no time.

Leave a Reply

