Maybe – Day 18

Maybe I’ll be content.

Being content is subjective. Think me a liar? I’m not.

It’s subjective because of a host of reasons: circumstances, environment, people, etc.

I’m quite content, right now, watching Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End and blogging. But if something were to happen to disrupt my little happy world right now, I would be very discontent.

Okay, I realize that’s pretty tame but does it make sense? Do you get that contentment is subjective? If it wasn’t, nothing that happened – good or bad – would make us feel discontentment.

It doesn’t have to be though. True contentment is possible to achieve and here’s why I say that:

11 Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to be content with whatever I have. 12 I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. 13 For I can do everything through Christ, who gives me strength.
Philippians 4:11-13 (NLT)

It is faith in Christ – who not only gives us strength but loves us, cares for us, provides for us – that helps us learn what it means to be content. Have you ever noticed that no matter how many valleys you find yourself in or how many mountaintops you end up on, He’s always there? Did you ever notice that when you consciously choose to keep Him close instead of pushing away, your level of contentment remains the same no matter the circumstance?

It’s infinite trust in His ability to love you, keep you, provide for you and to see you through no matter what.

No. Matter. What.

That is true contentment.

Why?

Because He’s got it all under control.

Leave a comment